Statement Appointment of Prime Minister and Government Ministers in Thailand

His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej has graciously given a Royal Command for the appointment of General Prayut Chan-ocha as the 29th Prime Minister of Thailand, as countersigned by the President of the National Legislative Assembly Pornpetch Wichitcholachai. General Prayut received the Royal Command in a ceremony held on 25 August 2014 at the Army Headquarters in Bangkok.

After the ceremony, the new Prime Minister expressed his humble gratitude to His Majesty the King for his endorsement to appoint him as Prime Minister. He stated that he was well-aware of this great and important mission to lead the country and Thai people moving forward.

General Prayuth Chan-ocha has now selected individuals deserving to assume positions as Ministers to administer state affairs. On the authority of Section 19 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Thailand (Interim), B.E. 2557, His Majesty therefore graciously appoints the following individuals as Ministers, taking effect from 30 August 2014:

1. General Prawit Wongsuwan as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense

2. M.R. Pridiyathorn Devakula as Deputy Prime Minister

3. Mr Yongyuth Yuthawong as Deputy Prime Minister

4. General Tanasak Patimapragon as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

5. Mr. Wisanu Krue-Ngam as Deputy Prime Minister

6. M.L. Panadda Diskul as Minister of Prime Minister’s Office

7. Mr. Suwapan Tanyuwattana as Minister of Prime Minister’s Office

8. General Udomdej Sitabutr as Deputy Minister of Defence

9. Mr Sommai Phasee as Minister of Finance

10. Mr Don Pramudwinai as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

11. Mrs Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul as Minister of Tourism and Sports

12. Police General Adul Saengsingkaew as Minister of Social Development and Human Security

13. Mr Petipong Pungbun Na Ayudhya as Minister of Agriculture and Agricultural Cooperatives

14. Air Chief Marshal Prajin Juntong as Minister of Transport

15. Mr Arkhom Termpittayapaisith as Deputy Minister of Transport

16. General Dapong Rattanasuwan as Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

17. Mr Pornchai Rujiprapa as Minister of Information Technology and Communications

18. Mr. Narongchai Akrasanee as Minister of Energy

19. General Chatchai Sarikalya as Minister of Commerce

20. Mrs Apiradee Thanthraporn as Deputy Minister of Commerce

21. General Anupong Paochinda as Minister of Interior

22. Mr. Suthee Makboon as Deputy Minister of Interior

23. General Paiboon Khumchaya as Minister of Justice

24. General Surasak Kanchanarat as Minister of Labour

25. Mr. Veera Rojpojanarat as Minister of Culture

26. Mr. Pichet Durongkaveroj as Minister of Science and Technology

27. Admiral Narong Pipatanasai as Minister of Education

28. Mr. Krissanapong Keeratikorn as Deputy Minister of Education

29. Lieutenant General Surachet Chaiyawong as Deputy Minister of Education

30. Mr. Rajata Rajatanavin as Minister of Public Health

31. Mr. Somsak Choonharat as Deputy Minister of Public Health

32. Mr Chakramon Phasukavanich as Minister of Industry

We would like to inform that Thailand remains a welcoming MICE destination and that it’s business as usual throughout the country. TCEB will keep you updated with the situation. Should you require any further information and assistance, please call TCEB office: +(66) 2694 6000, TCEB call center at 1105 (within Thailand only), visit or contact